Northern California Record

Wednesday, November 20, 2019

LITTLER MENDELSON: You Thought the IRS Didn’t Care About ACA? ACA Shared Responsibility Penalty Taxes Are Alive and Well – and the IRS May Soon Be Coming After You!

By Press release submission | Nov 5, 2019

Microphone2 1000x667

Littler Mendelson P.C. recently issued the following announcement.

Thursday, November 7, 2019

10:00 am-10:45 am

Webinar

Questions?

Contact Taylor Wallace at twallace@littler.com

The ACA's Employer Mandate has not been repealed, nor is it being ignored. Rather, for several years now, it has been creating potential huge tax liabilities for employers who are in the line of fire of the IRS. The IRS has been aggressive in pursuing employers who may or may not have violated the employer mandate – some just have committed foot faults on their reporting forms. So if you receive a letter entitled 226-J from the IRS, do not ignore it!

These letters are formal notices which propose often hefty penalties based on the manner in which IRS Forms 1094-C and 1095-C have been completed. The penalties are assessed where an employer allegedly failed to comply with the employer shared responsibility provisions of the Affordable Care Act. The claim may be that you as an employer did not offer appropriate coverage to at least 95% of your full-time employees or that you did not offer coverage that was “affordable". If you receive this letter, the IRS presumes you owe a penalty tax for a given tax year and it is up to you to rebut this presumption.

The presenters will discuss what you should do if you receive an IRS Letter 226-J, and will also provide a refresher on the employer shared responsibility rules under the ACA, including compliance with the ACA measurement requirements and the reporting rules with respect to IRS Forms 1094-C and 1095-C.

Time:

10:00 - 10:40 am PT

11:00 - 11:40 am MT

12:00 - 12:40 pm CT

1:00 - 1:40 pm ET

Original source can be found here.

Want to get notified whenever we write about Littler Mendelson P.C. ?

Sign-up Next time we write about Littler Mendelson P.C., we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.

Organizations in this Story

Littler Mendelson P.C.